Ink Review: Vinta Inks Malayan Apple – Makopa 1938

This ink by Vinta Inks is likely to be enjoyed by many just like the crisp fruit it is named after, known as the makopa in the Philippines. In Thailand, I believe we have the same fruit known by the names of “rose apple” and “chompoo”. But unlike the fruit’s light, crunchy texture and sometimes diluted pink colour, this ink is JUICY.

Shading – 0/5
Sheen – 4/5
Saturation- 5/5
Wetness – 4.5/5

The purplish magenta colour is stunning. It does not seem to shade, maintaining a saturated and consistent colour. Sheen lovers rejoice! Some describe the sheen as golden. Perhaps it’s due to the contrast with the pink-purple but the sheen looks more green than yellow to me and I adore this Joker-esque colour combo. The sheen was visible even with my TWSBI medium nib Mini.

The ink is wet and wrote smoothly. The medium nib could barely control the flow of this ink and there were no hard-starts even after a couple weeks without using it. It feels almost “thick” or oily with how smooth and saturated it is. If you are anything like me and write with budget-friendly non-Rhodia paper regularly (yes, I’m a heretic), you may find this ink will bleed through or feather, though it did play well with my usual Muji notebooks (as shown). This could have been a fluke but the ink smeared when I gently passed an eraser over it to lighten pencil lines A WHOLE DAY after I’d used the ink for a journal drawing. Vinta Inks Makopa is beautiful but unforgiving to my shenanigans.

Personally, I am very pleased with Makopa and the initiative Vinta Inks takes to donate to children’s education in the Philippines adds to the sweetness of this purchase. I will review another one of their inks soon and am anticipating their future releases!

Disclaimer: The ink was bought with my own money and I do not receive any compensation for this review. I bought this ink from The Pip’s Cafe in 30ml for THB450.

Leave a comment