Ink Review: Supermarket Ink – Oyster by Studio360

Oyster is the grey ink in from Studio360’s Supermarket line of inks and second of four which I will be reviewing from my mini haul. Bubble Gum which I previously reviewed was disappointing and I hoped Oyster, being one of my favourite ink colours, would perform better.

Shading: 0.5/5
Sheen:0/5
Shimmer: 0/5
Saturation: 4/5
Wetness: 1.5/5
Lubrication: 2/5

Oyster is a dark, cool grey that is nearly black. Not quite the dilute shade I hoped for. Like Bubble Gum, it is kind of a boring ink with no real interesting properties. No real shading, sheen, shimmer and it is very dry to the point that my wet TWSBI B nib would write like an M or F if I wrote quickly enough. The ink actually showed more shading in the finer nibs but only if you look closely. Lubrication is slightly better but still gives a lot of feedback. The smear test showed it drying extremely quickly in an F nib and less so in the B nib. This ink also feathers on Rhodia like it does on normal printer paper.

There are two more inks to review but I’m honestly losing hope. Where possible, I try to support small, local businesses and products. I just love finding hidden gems close to home. But so far, the Supermarket Inks by Studio360 are an underwhelming product in pretty packaging.

Edit: Review for Soda and Green Tea.

Disclaimer: I bought this ink with my own money and do not receive any compensation for writing this review.

Leave a comment