Ink Review: Supermarket Ink – Soda by Studio360

This is the second to last ink from my mini haul of Studio360’s Supermarket line. Considering the mediocre performance of Bubble Gum and Oyster, I suspect a similar show from Soda. Let us begin.

Shading: 1/5
Sheen:0/5
Shimmer: 0/5
Saturation: 4/5
Wetness: 2/5
Lubrication: 2/5

The colour of Soda is not at all like what the name or official swatches suggest. It is not bright or bubbly, but rather a dark denim or blue-black. This one shades the most out of all four. I suppose this is what some would call a sensible shade. It has similar properties to other Studio360 Supermarket inks in that it is dry, not well lubricated, not water-resistant and feathers on Rhodia. It behaves slightly better than the other two and I like the colour more than I expected to so I might fill up and try journalling with it for awhile. I also would not mind getting an ink in the same shade from a more reputable brand. Something “blue” and acceptable at work but also unique and interesting enough that I know it’s my own writing. Always love to be pleasantly surprised by shades which I do not expect to like. Seeing the colours paper versus on screen makes a big difference and I think I will be venturing into murky or dilute grey inks more in the future!

Edit: I also reviewed Bubble Gum, Oyster and Green Tea.

Disclaimer: I bought this ink with my own money and do not receive any compensation for writing this review.

Leave a comment