Stationery Haul: Studio360 Fountain Pen Ink

Recently, I ordered a special deal from the local luxury stationery store, Studio360. Studio360 have a few of their own lines of fountain pen ink, as well as a custom ink bar for you to mix your own ink. Definitely on my places to visit when lockdown is over. As for the haul, the promotion deal included one converter, one Jinhao fountain pen, one ballpoint pen and – the key reason I could not resist – four house-brand fountain pen inks from their Supermarket Ink line.

Yes, Studio360’s line of Supermarket Inks is a series of 20 colours, each named after an edible product you can typically find at a supermarket such as Meat, Salmon and Yuzu Ice Cream. There must be something about the sense of humour in South East Asia that tempts us to give comical names to our locally produced inks. Other than Thailand’s Studio360 and their questionably appetizing Supermarket Inks, there is Singapore’s Straits Pen with their flippantly named Honest Ink. They give a sense of approachability by not taking oneself too seriously which I appreciate. On a tangent, I intend to try Honest Inks, especially Ultramehrine and Slowpoke Green, but back to the haul.

Promotional picture from Studio360’s FB page

According to the brand:
“studio360 supermarket ink is suitable for both fountain pen and ink roller pen. The ink is water based and washable.”

Of the four inks I bought, I personally chose Oyster (grey) and Green Tea (green) as they were most interesting to me. The last two, Bubble Gum (hot pink) and Soda (blue) were recommended by the staff as their best sellers. The inks bled a lot on my initial swab so I hope they will be better behaved inked in a pen. Edit: I have reviewed Bubble Gum, Oyster, Soda and Green Tea.

The inks came in 18ml glass bottles packed in kraft brown boxes. If you look carefully at the first picture, you can see the “nutritional value” printed on the back of the boxes. The nutritional facts label is a cute and appropriate design choice.

For the overall shopping experience, the staff were courteous and helpful when I ordered via LINE message. The order shipped out quickly and arrived well packaged. They included a little brand sticker with the order. It has been a positive experience which makes me curious to try their DIY fountain pen kit and other line of fountain pen inks called Artists Ink which include 24 Pantone colours sorted into four palettes of six colours, each palette “in(k)spired” by a renowed artist.

Disclaimer: I bought all items in this post with my own money and do not receive any compensation for writing this post.

Leave a comment